First Annual Cinema Eye Honors

Tomorrow night at the IFC Center in New York City, a brand-new award ceremony for documentary films will take place. The Cinema Eye Honors for Nonfiction Filmmaking were created by filmmaker/blogger AJ Schnack (Kurt Cobain: About a Son) and some colleagues after their dissatisfaction with the current Academy Awards system for recognizing excellence in documentary filmmaking. AJ and TIFF doc programmer Thom Powers will be co-hosting the event, and they’ve assembled an impressive list of presenters.

I’m disappointed not to be able to attend in person, especially since I was honoured to be asked to contribute a short blog excerpt to the printed programme that will be given out to attendees. I’m not sure if this is being broadcast anywhere (online would be ideal) or recorded, but I’ll post the winners on Wednesday.

UPDATE: According to Pamela Cohn, there will be an edited version of the ceremony webcast on AOL True Stories “soon.” More information as I get it.

Full list of nominees

Official site of the Cinema Eye Honors

This entry was posted in Awards, Documentaries, Special Events and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.